Skip to content

The Results

September 15, 2010

I did well! Thank goodness. Read on for all the details…

I had planned to leave between noon and 1 o’clock on Saturday. But noon came and went, 1 o’clock came and went, and it was nearly 2:30 by the time all of my artwork was printed, packed and loaded into the car. I had severely underestimated the time it would take to print all the illustrations. Lesson #1  learned.

Even though the show wasn’t until Sunday, the artists were allowed to set up their booths on Saturday. I was not planning on setting up mine, but I wanted to go to check out the fair grounds and see where my booth was located. When we first arrived, a majority of the artists were already there setting up their tents and display pieces. Many came in RVs, much more came with trailers, all full with the artists’ work. Our car (an Expedition) was full, everything I could think of I had brought with. But it was at this point that Marco said to me “I’m going to say something, and I mean in it in the most supportive way possible, but I think you are way out of your league.” Was I?

I had more work to do so then we headed to the hotel. The rules stated that all items needed to be priced before the show. So that was my homework for the night. I have to thank my whole family and my future in-laws because without them I would have shown up to the fair practically empty-handed! SO A VERY BIG THANK YOU TO THEM! I began preparing a month in advance thinking I would have enough time to get everything done (which being my first art show was A LOT!), but it wasn’t. Lesson #2 learned. With all hands on deck, the pricing went fairly quickly. I also put together a catalog of all my illustrations, complete with order forms in case someone wanted to custom order (very optimistic of me!).

I went to bed early Saturday night, but I slept very little. I was excited and nervous, anxious, very ready for it to be here (finally!) and yet not ready at all. Not until that night did I realize that I was taking a chance and that I could fail. Then it was here – Sunday, September 12, 2010, the day of my first art show and possibly a new path in life. As we were leaving the hotel, I realized I forgot the table cloths (the ones I demanded we keep from the engagement party and reuse for the show). It wasn’t the worst thing I could forget, but I had seen some of the artists’ displays already and knew mine would be lacking. I could not have uncovered tables! Fortunately, my mom, the social bee that she is, asked around and was given directions to the nearest Kmart (which was thankfully and surprisingly open at 8 am on a Sunday morning).

Set up began at 7 am, and when we pulled up, there was already a line of people waiting to get in (no lie!). The nerves really kicked in. I had no issues setting up. However, I should have had a shelving unit of some sort to display the cards, a hard wall or rack to hang and display the prints, basically an overall more exciting and enticing display. Lesson #3, #4 and #5 learned.

At 10 am the bell rang, and the people poured in. I told myself I had to make at least one sale, and that if I didn’t I would try very very hard not to cry. BUT one of my first customers bought three prints and three cards, and then I was on my way. I was not out of my league. I was just different. Not one other person was selling what I had. I received lots of very wonderful comments, and I learned a lot! I handed out a ton of business cards (if you’re one of those individuals who picked up a business card and are reading this, thank you for checking out my blog and feel free to drop me a note). Two great friends even made the trip to support me (Thanks Cass and Elizabeth!). I also received a ton of ideas for new illustrations so keep an eye out! Overall, I was very pleased with the outcome. I’ve even generated some business since the show. It was a long day and an even longer four months since applying and receiving notice of my acceptance, but I’m so glad I did it, and so proud.

We stopped for Chinese on the way home, and do you want to know what my fortune said? Continue to take chances. You will be glad you did.

I think I will.

Thanks again Mom, Dad, Kar, KP, Kev, Rick, Deb, Chris and Marco. All my love. 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 5:00 pm

    Amazing work baby girl!!! I am so proud of you!! this is a huge step for you~

  2. Karen permalink
    September 15, 2010 5:15 pm

    You really did an outstanding job at the Art Show Kates! I am so proud of you. I love this blog because you are incorporating two of your many talents….writing and art. Now try to fit in the Spanish somewhere! 🙂 Also, I love how you posted a recipe. I will definitely be making that Italian dish soon. It sounds so yummy! One last comment…Can you please fix the boob of the girl who is taking a pic with her camera!?!?! It is too pointy, round it out! LOL! Love u.
    Kar

  3. Michelle permalink
    September 16, 2010 7:26 am

    I’m so excited for you! I knew you would do well. Sorry we couldn’t make it to this one. We will be there for the next. xoxo, Michelle, Chris & Lexxie

  4. Holly permalink
    September 16, 2010 7:58 am

    Did you sell govn’t girl? I will buy that print for my office! Great job! So admiring your determination to achieve your creative goals! :0)

  5. Mom permalink
    September 16, 2010 8:09 pm

    Where is Carlota? Your combined talents are fantastic. You are on your way, drawing and painting and writing. Next in the line of things to do…………..write and illustrate a children’s book. KAREN CRIES. No one better than your sister as a subject. Love, Mom

  6. Cass permalink
    September 27, 2010 1:42 pm

    So glad this went well for you! You totally deserve every bit of Success! We enjoyed our day seeing the show! Congrats Babe, keep up the fabulous work!! A true Chicago Talent!

Trackbacks

  1. Somewhere In Middle America « Illustrate Kate
  2. Getting Started: Art Fairs & Craft Shows « Illustrate Kate

Leave a Reply

