Skip to content

Gallery Wall

October 25, 2010

Hi there, hope everyone had a wonderful weekend! I did 🙂 Very productive, too. I finished a few new paintings and now I want to share them with you guys. Expect to see a painting everyday this week!

Here’s a little background for today’s post… I’ve always loved the idea of a gallery wall. So, when we moved into our condo, I picked out one wall and we agreed it would be our gallery wall. We just started hanging pieces a few weeks ago and I’m loving how it’s already coming along. What’s fun is that we’re not hanging everything at once. We’re starting in the middle and building out from there. So, whatever strikes us – art, photos, design, etc. – will go up until the wall is full.  We’ve decided to go with a more eclectic look with different shapes and sizes and putting things up in a random pattern. Here’s what we’ve got so far, pretty cool, huh?

The Gallery Wall…lots of potential!

The first pieces

The Sears Tower. I’ve been wanting/trying to do a Chicago piece for a very long time but I’m never happy with the way they turn out. I did this painting of the Sears Tower (fine Willis Tower) over the weekend, and I love it! So, now its part of the gallery wall. You can also see my illustration of Claire on the wall, that’s a mirror on top there and the branch is a drawing I did for a class I took in college. 

Warning: I’m constantly changing the things that are on my walls so if you’re one of those people who don’t put something on the wall until you’re absolutely positively certain, this may not be for you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    October 26, 2010 7:57 pm

    I like the Sears Tower painting (not Willis Tower) you did! It looks like icicles are coming off of it. Very cool idea of having a gallery wall! Love u.

    • November 8, 2010 12:40 pm

      Thanks Karen! I hope to do a series of these, different colors, different buildings, keep an eye out 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Fun Friday Finds « Illustrate Kate

Leave a Reply

