Skip to content

Resourceful

March 7, 2011

I wanted to share a few things I’ve made note of in the book I’ve been reading My So-Called Freelance Life by Michelle Goodman. Thought all of you creatives out there might benefit from it too!

[Regarding “Business Plans To Go”] “All you need is a short list of your freelance goals for the year – a roadmap of where you want your career to go, and some directions for how to get there.” 

“Think tangible, realistic, bite-size pieces. Here’s an example:

DEVELOP AND WORK ON MY IDEA FOR A GRAPHIC NOVEL THIS YEAR.

Game Plan:

1. Put myself on a weekly illustration schedule, starting January 15. Start with thirty-minute sessions first thing in the morning on Wednesdays and Fridays, and see if I can increase the sessions length and/or amount by March. Aim for a rough sketch of at least one panel per session.

2. Sign up for that cartoon-publishingclass at my local media center.

3. Read blogs by and interviews with my illustrator/cartoonist heroines to see how they got their start.”

“Make a spreadsheet, a wall chart, or a 3D diorama to track your progress. Take a page from Molly Crabapple and get your friends in on the act: ‘For big, long-term goals, I’ve found loudly bragging about what I’m going to do makes me do it,’ says the award-winning illustrator for such fine institutions as Marvel comics, The New York Times, and Playgirl. ‘Otherwise, I have to face the humiliation of public failure.’ (Talk about incentive).”

[And a quote that resonated with me] “Not all of us want to be the next big thing. Some of just want enough cash to keep a roof over our head (and a few new pairs of shoes in the closet). And some of us just want enough downtime to devote to our creative habits.”

For more of the good stuff read My So-Called Freelance Life!

Just picked up this one from the library a few days ago, Drawing Lab for Mixed-Media Artists by Carla Sonheim…

I’ll share tips as I read ’em!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 3:43 pm

    Great book! Great to go get when inspiration is low 🙂

  2. March 8, 2011 3:06 am

    Thanks for sharing, these are some very helpful tips. I wanted to read that book! :3

    “Make a spreadsheet, a wall chart, or a 3D diorama to track your progress. Take a page from Molly Crabapple and get your friends in on the act: ‘For big, long-term goals, I’ve found loudly bragging about what I’m going to do makes me do it”—I TOTALLY agree on this one!!! haha~ and yes, i’m doing that now!:)

  3. mom permalink
    March 8, 2011 11:50 am

    u go girl

Leave a Reply

