Skip to content

Children’s Book

March 16, 2011

 

Have you ever read this book The Dot by Peter H. Reynolds? It’s only a few pages but it’s absolutely wonderful, and it has a beautiful message – “The Dot is more than a book about art. It is a book that encourages us to be brave about expressing ourselves. It gently reminds us to start small and explore the IDEA.” –  Peter H. Reynolds.

I keep it on the bookshelf in my studio. I think children’s books are so carefree and fun and inspirational! I hope to write and illustrate one myself someday. See my sister [who is the best big sister ever and a true character!] has been giving me material for this for years. I intend to title the series Karen Cries. Each one a different story [Karen Cries because she gets lost; Karen Cries because she is afraid of thunderstorms, etc.] Below are some of my initial sketchings inspired by The Dot. Just a little bit of practice, trying to find a style I like and get comfortable with it. What do we think?    

  

 

Wanna know more? Read a Q&A about The Dot with the author Peter H. Reynolds here.  

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Dodeline Design permalink
    March 16, 2011 10:52 am

    Cute! My favorite children’s book is Harold and the Purple Crayon 🙂

  2. March 16, 2011 12:14 pm

    Oh…I just LOVE this book…as well as ‘ish’…such amazing messages!!!!

  3. Karen permalink
    March 16, 2011 8:48 pm

    Just laughed out loud!!!!! Yep Karen does cry…but you weren’t suppose to tell everyone! Love you little sis!
    P.S. Just waiting to see what Mom writes.

  4. Cass permalink
    March 18, 2011 9:21 am

    I love this whole book idea. I think children’s books are THE most important thing for them. And I do like the sketches Kate!

Leave a Reply

