Skip to content

insPEARation

March 23, 2011

Drew McKevitt over at Angry Pear [Another Day, Another Pear] is one of my daily sources of insPEARation. Her illustrations are truly wonderful, but it’s Drew’s wit and ingenuity that really impresses me! I look forward to seeing what she comes up with everyday! I had the opportunity to do a little Q&A with her for my first feature. So read on to find out more about the creator behind Angry Pear [and to see some of my favorite angry pears]

Who is Drew McKevitt?  
I am originally from Philadelphia, but moved to Montreal, Quebec for college. I still live in Montreal and work as the Managing Editor of a poetry magazine. I went to school for Creative Writing, with a particular interest in poetry. Over the last few years, I’ve been writing less poetry and adopting more hobbies. I always liked drawing when I was younger, but hadn’t started up again until recently. I live with my boyfriend and pet rabbit, Beatrice, who often makes an appearance on Angry Pear. 

 
Where do you create? 
Usually in my apartment. The guest room is also my craft room. I sometimes come up with ideas at work. 

 
 Tell us a little bit about Angry Pear… how did you get started? Why pears? 
Angry Pear is a lighthearted perspective of everyday life.
 
I’ve always loved pears—for their taste and perhaps even more for their shape. Their round bottoms and tapered tops have always been pleasing to me. It was a natural extension for me to endow them with personalities. When I was younger, my grandmother and I started calling each other pears as a joke, and it became a habit. We would point to each other’s actions or reactions to situations and dub them ‘pearish.’ A definition arose. Pears are a bit prickly, easily perturbed, sometimes selfish, incapable of dealing with small upsets, but ultimately sweet and innocent. When you give human emotions to something like a pear, it highlights the absurdity of our foibles. For example, if someone is annoying me, I picture them as a pear and their pearish qualities (which we all share) become apparent.
 
I began making pear illustrations for my friends and they loved the drawings, so I decided to create a blog. As I got more involved with the blog, they became their own characters. Pears like to drink cocktails, accessorize with scarves, and rarely wear clothes except for bikinis when they are at the beach. 

 What inspires you?
Pretty much everything. Angry Pear and I share a lot of the same frustrations with the world. We both have a tendency to get irrationally angry over small things. I think a lot of people do. Venting that rage through pears, lessens the severity of the emotion. The nice thing about using pears instead of people is that even most mundane scenario can be funny. 


  What advice would you give to other creatives?
I don’t know if I’m the best person to be offering advice—I feel like I could use some myself. I struggle with finding time to create. I guess my advice would be that even if you can only manage working for ten minutes a day, it’s still worth it. It helps to develop a habit for when you work on your project— like a specific time of day or certain spot in your home. Setting a deadline also helps. For me, updating the blog daily forces me to draw.  

 
Any important information/other links we should know about? 
 I’m working on starting an Etsy shop where I’ll be offering polymer pears and stationary featuring some of the images from the blog. It should be open soon. I’ll post a link to the shop on my blog when it’s ready.
 
Angry Pear is on Facebook and Twitter. The Facebook site offers a fun “What Kind of Pear are You?” quiz with others on the way!
 
Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/people/Angriest-Pear/100001730653684
Twitter – http://twitter.com/theangriestpear

This one is titled PEARternity test with Maury PEARvich. I mean how clever!

Haven’t checked out Angry Pear yet? What are you waiting for? Click here!

Thanks Drew for taking part in my first proPEAR feature!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Maybe a Pear permalink
    March 23, 2011 8:02 am

    This is a wonderful interview!
    The pear pictures you selected reminded me of past angry pear posts that were hilarious when first read and now revisited.

  2. Cass permalink
    March 23, 2011 12:58 pm

    This interview is very TV! I should send it to WGN and see what they say! 🙂 Great work and I love the pears!!

  3. March 23, 2011 1:25 pm

    that third to last pear shoving the pants on is making my day.

  4. March 23, 2011 1:33 pm

    These are so funny, I’ve never been there! I will have to go check it out!

  5. Bonnie Caroline permalink
    March 23, 2011 3:27 pm

    Fabulous PEARspective! There’s definitely an angry pear in all of us!!

  6. March 23, 2011 4:39 pm

    Thanks Kate! The feature turned out wonderfully! I had actually forgotten momentarily about some of these pears you’ve featured. And I love your pears at the top by the way!

  7. Mary permalink
    March 24, 2011 12:28 pm

    Great interview!!

  8. March 24, 2011 1:46 pm

    Thanks everyone!! Drew/Angry Pear was a great first feature, I’m so happy with how it turned out! More features to come…

    Kate

  9. nickie permalink
    March 24, 2011 3:58 pm

    brill.

  10. peeved pear permalink
    March 24, 2011 9:23 pm

    Pearfect interview!

Trackbacks

  1. Angry Pear Feature! | Angry Pear
  2. Want to See Me in a Sweatsuit? « Illustrate Kate
  3. Mr. Postman « Illustrate Kate

Leave a Reply

