Skip to content

New Ideas

April 4, 2011

For me, books, magazines, the internet [blogs] are all great sources of inspiration and new ideas. Web sites like Pinterest and Creattica are helpful if I’m burnt out and need a creative jumpstart. Other times, I’ll get an idea when I’m away from my studio – running errands, listening to music, making dinner, riding on the train, etc. Sometimes to generate new ideas I do what you might call “creativity calisthenics” [lessons learned over the years from various art teachers and artists I admire utilized to tap into the imagination]. 

Make A Mind Map: Write down a goal or project in the middle of a piece of paper then draw four short lines from that. At the end of each line, write down something that comes to mind when you think of the word in the middle. Keep connecting all over the paper. REMEMBER when you organize a thought before allowing yourself to generate all new ideas, you are limiting yourself.  

Do A Little Dance: Anything that gets your arms or legs moving across the center of your body. This is thought to stimulate the brain by breaking up the body’s routine. 

What are some of the things that help you generate new ideas? What “creativity calisthenics” do you use? 

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 8:22 am

    Great post! You’re very right – travel, getting out of the house, being active are all excellent methods. Sometimes I simply have to step back and say stop trying to create for business, just create for me. It’s definitely the challenge of the creative professional – I feel like all my creative time has to be “productive/profitable” time. However, the best ideas come out when I say to myself, STOP worrying about the end result of this, do what your heart & mind are interested in at this moment.

Leave a Reply

