Skip to content

[ravello, italy] palazzo sasso & sasso by the sea

June 30, 2011

The sun was setting just beyond Mount Vesuvius as we headed away from the city and into the mountains. We’d been traveling for close to 24 hours, and despite the incredible panoramic view of the Gulf of Naples, I couldn’t keep my eyes open. I dozed in and out of sleep while we passed through lemon orchards and rose colored towns. We climbed high into the mountains around steep and winding roads until we reached Ravello. A narrow pathway led to the entrance of our hotel, the Palazzo Sasso. The mountain air was cool, and a slight breeze blew through the windows of the hotel lobby. I was excited to see what the grounds had in store for us in the daylight. We checked into our guest room, dropped off our luggage then set out in search of our first Italian meal. Clouds covered the night sky as we navigated the narrow cobblestone streets into the piazza. I was thrilled we were finally here. Nothing from the previous 24 hours mattered [not the 8 hour flight delay at O’hare, the turbulence or the lack of sleep]. The hotel recommended we try CumpÀ Cosimo, a popular trattoria in Ravello. We settled on splitting a margherita pizza and ordered individual pasta dishes [penne arrabiata for M and cheese ravioli for me]. It was beyond delicious. We found our way back to the hotel and climbed the stairs to the rooftop. Surrounded by mountain cliffs and the small towns’ twinkling lights, hand in hand we sat silently. The breeze carried along the Italian music from the lobby below. This was just the beginning. It would be but a small memory in comparison to everything else we would encounter in these two weeks, but I cherished it deeply.

I decided to post the photos from Palazzo Sasso [and its seaside villa Sasso by the Sea] because the place was absolutely gorgeous, and quite frankly it was the only place we stayed on this trip that’s worth mentioning. It was a honeymooner’s dream, and I wish we could have stayed longer. Tomorrow you will get a much more in-depth look at Ravello, and it’s awe-inspiring beauty. And over the next few weeks I’ll be posting many more honeymoon photos. We spent ten days traveling around several beautiful cities in Italyand three days in Barcelona. Some days I will share by city, other days I will share by adventure. I am excited to relive the memories. I hope you enjoy!  

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 12:27 pm

    Oh my gosh I cannot WAIT to get to Italy! It looks amazing!

  2. Karen permalink
    June 30, 2011 3:49 pm

    Beautiful description of Ravello and beautiful pics!!!!!! They almost don’t seem real! XOXO

  3. June 30, 2011 7:59 pm

    I am loving the honeymoon photos. I’m excited to see more.

Leave a Reply

