Skip to content

A is for Apple

October 8, 2010

Hi Illustrate Kate Readers.  I’m really excited to do a guest post for Katelyn, my very best friend.  I live in Vermont and right now I think the state is at its very best, Fall.  

   
Each year I look forward to apple picking season and I had the chance to do so this past weekend.  My favorite apple to pick is the Honeycrisp. Oh, it’s so delicious! 

 

 

 

 

 

So I decided to bake a healthy treat with my favorite little giant apples.  It took all but five minutes to throw together this recipe and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.  I wanted a baked apple that kept its shape, but was tender when sliced. 

 

 

 

 

Buckwheat Baked Apples with Cider Glaze- for 2

Ingredients:
2 Honeycrisp apples
1/8 cup raw buckwheat grouts (you could also use rolled oats here if you prefer)
1/8 cup sweetened dried cranberries (or any dried fruit that you like)
1T pure maple syrup
pinch of ground cinnamon
1/4 cup apple cider

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375F.  Slice off the top of the apple and use an ice cream scoop or melon baller to scoop out the core, leaving the base of the apple intact.  In a small bowl, mix together the buckwheat, dried cranberries, maple syrup and cinnamon.  Divide the mixture between the two cored apples.  Place the apple top back on the stuffed apples and transfer the apples to a small baking pan.  Pour apple cider in the base of the baking pan.  Bake the apples for 45 minutes or until tender when pierced with a knife.  Allow apples to cool slightly.  Drizzle any pan juices on top of the cooked apples before serving.  They’re great on their own, but a little yogurt or ice cream on the side would also be delicious.  I went with yogurt!   

I also outlined a more step-by-step process over on my blog Katielady’s Choices.  Head on over if you like.  Thank you for reading!

Katie

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 11:14 pm

    Thanks so much for posting Katie! Sounds delicious, as always! Can’t wait to see you soon.

  2. Karen permalink
    October 14, 2010 7:33 pm

    Honeycrisps are my favorite too! They are so juicy! Awesome recipe…I’ll be trying it soon! Thanks Katie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

